Kyle Rittmeyer – On The Job Training

Kyle Rittmeyer is not a stranger to HPI. Kyle’s dad, Dave Rittmeyer will be celebrating his 18th year with HPI in April, making Kyle a part of the HPI family basically since birth. Kyle is the newest (and now youngest!) team member and is not a stranger to the trade. As you will read below, Kyle aspires to be a third generation pattern maker. We look forward to having Kyle here in the building and look forward to seeing him grow in the in trade.


What school do you go to?
Norwell High School.  I’m enrolled in South Adams Area 18 Precision Machining Program.

What grade are you in?

What is “on the job training” Is it part of a class? A program?
On the job training is being trained while doing that job as a potential career. Students have the opportunity to be enrolled in on the job training during their 2nd year class at South Adams. I work from 12:30 to 4:30 Monday thru Thursday and will continue to do so for the last half of the school year.

What are your plans after high school?
My plans for after high school are apply for a full time job at Hoosier or another pattern shop. Once I’ve worked there for awhile, I hope to apply and be accepted into an apprenticeship program and fufill one of my life goals and become a third generation patternmaker.

Did you get to choose HPI as a place to do your on the job training or was it picked for you? If you picked, what made you go with HPI?
I got to choose HPI. I chose this place because it is where I hope to be hired. It has many learning opportunities.

What makes HPI different than other choices you had?
HPI is different because I have worked here in the past. I have done and internship and done odd jobes to help in needed areas around the shop (painted, cleaned in the summer).

What do you at HPI?
At HPI I do a little of everything. I help quality control with scanning and inspecting. I shadow the setup crew watching them set up parts on the mills and lathes picking up little tricks that they were taught. I help in the benching area by taking gating off plates so they can be cleaned up and I help in the sandroom cleaning molds and cores, job boxes or helping pack so they can ship them out.

What do you enjoy the most about HPI?
What I enjoy the most is seeing friendly faces that are willing to advice and give their tips for projects.

Which career/industry are you hoping to do for life?
I am hoping to work in the machining side, either programming or on setup.

What qualities/traits does a person need to succeed in this line of work?
teamwork. Most jobs I’ve watched people do here involve more than one task and more than one person.

What activities do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I enjoy reading books and fishing. I played saxophone in the marching band at football games and bass guitar in the pep band at home basketball games. I am currently restoring an old motorcycle with my dad right now.